version francaise

What's new ?

Film details

Cult dialogues

Photos gallery

Products

Thoughts

Links


site map


"Coffee Shop" Booth - Interior evening

Once again, Travis is sitting in one of the peepshow booths in front of the mirror that becomes a window as Jane comes through the door and switches on the light. This room is decorated like an American coffee shop. Today, Jane is wearing a short black dress. She seems to be in the same happy mood she was the day before.

JANE
Howdy.

TRAVIS
Howdy.

Jane sits down on the bar stool next to the "counter".

TRAVIS
Can I tell you something?

JANE
Sure. Anything you like.

TRAVIS
It's kind of a long story.

JANE
I got plenty of time.

Jane may possibly have recognized the voice of yesterday's visitor, but she doesn't show it. Travis takes his chair and turns it around so that he is sitting with his back to the window. Jane, of course, is not aware of this. Now neither of them can see the other.

TRAVIS
I knew these people... [ 1s 19Ko]

JANE
What people?

TRAVIS
These two people. They were in love with each other. The girl was... very young, about seventeen or eighteen, I guess. And the guy was... quite a bit older. He was kind of raggedy and wild. And she was very beautiful, you know?

JANE
Yeah.

TRAVIS
And together, they turned everything into a kind of adventure, and she liked that. [ 6s 98Ko] Just an ordinary trip down to the grocery store was full of adventure. They were always laughing at stupid things. He liked to make her laugh. And they didn't much care for anything else because all they wanted to do was to be with each other. They were always together.

JANE
Sounds like they were very happy.

TRAVIS
Yes, they were. They were real happy. And he... he loved her more than he ever felt possible. [ 5s 93Ko] He couldn't stand being away from her during the day when he went to work... so he'd quit. Just to be at home with her. Then he'd get another job when the money ran out, and then he'd quit again. But pretty soon, she started to worry.

JANE
About what?

TRAVIS
Money, I guess. Not having enough. Not knowing when the next check was coming in.

JANE (rit)
I know that feeling. [ 2s 32Ko]

TRAVIS
So he started to get kind of... torn inside.

JANE
How do you mean?

TRAVIS
Well, he knew he had to work to support her, but he couldn't stand being away from her, either.

JANE
I see.

TRAVIS
And the more he was away from her, the crazier he got. [ 2s 44Ko] Except now, he went really crazy. He started imagining all kinds of things.

JANE
Like what?

TRAVIS
He started thinking that she was seeing other men on the sly. He'd come home from work and accuse her of spending the day with somebody else. Then he'd yell at her and start smashing things in the trailer.

Jane is suddenly very startled. Perhaps, deep down, she knew all along that it was Travis who was talking to her. But now she is sure.

JANE
The trailer?

There is a long pause in the conversation. Travis is also not sure whether he hasn't betrayed himself, and whether he can continue to tell the story in the same way.

TRAVIS
Yes, they were living in a trailer home. [ 3s 61Ko]

Jane allows him te preserve his anonymity.

JANE
Excuse me, sir, but were you in to visit me the other day? I don't mean to pry.

TRAVIS
No.

JANE
Oh, I thought I recognized your voice for a minute.

TRAVIS
No, it wasn't me.

JANE
Uhm. Please go on.

She plays her part well. Travis smiles.

TRAVIS
Anyway, he started to drink real bad. And he'd stay out late to test her. [ 1s 31Ko]

JANE
What do you mean, "test her" ?

TRAVIS
To see if she'd get jealous.

Jane has to laugh at that.

JANE
Huh! Uhuh.

TRAVIS
He wanted her to get jealous, but she didn't. She was just worried about him, but that got him even madder.

JANE
Why?

TRAVIS
Because he thought that, if she'd never get jealous of him, she didn't really care about him. Jealousy was a sign of her love for him. [ 2s 44Ko] And then, one night... one night, she told him she was pregnant. She was about three or four months pregnant, and he didn't even know. And then, suddenly, everything changed. He stopped drinking and got a steady job. He was convinced that she loved him now because she was carrying his child. And he was going to dedicate himself to making a home for her. But then a funny thing started to happen.

JANE
What?

TRAVIS
He didn't even notice it at first. She started to change. From the day the baby was born, she began to get irritated with everything around her. She got mad at everything. Even the baby seemed to be an injustice to her. [ 3s 55Ko] He kept trying to make everything all right for her. Buy her things. Take her out to dinner once a week. But nothing seemed to satisfy her. For two years he struggled to pull them back together like they were when they first met, but finally he knew that it was never going to work out. So he hit the bottle again. But this time it got... mean. [ 4s 70Ko] This time, when he came home late at night, drunk, she wasn't worried about him, or jealous, she was just enraged. She accused him of holding her captive by making her have a baby. She told him that she dreamed about escaping. That was all she dreamed about: escape. She saw herself at night running naked down a highway, running across fields, running down riverbeds, always running. And always, just when she was about to get away, he'd be there. He would stop her somehow. He would just appear and stop her. And when she told him these dreams, he believed them. [ 3s 50Ko] He knew she had to be stopped or she'd leave him forever. So he ned a cow bell to her ankle so he could hear her at night if she tried to get out of bed. [ 5s 84Ko] . But she learned how to muffle the bell by stuffing a sock into it, and inching her way out of the bed and into the night. He caught her one night when the sock fell out and he heard her trying to run to the highway. He caught her and dragged her back to the trailer, and tied her to the stove with his belt.

During the course of his story, Jane cries. The tears roll down her face.

TRAVIS
He just left her there and went back to bed and lay there listening to her scream. And he listened to his son scream, and he was surprised at himself because he didn't feel anything anymore. All he wanted to do was sleep. And for the first time, he wished he were far away. [ 4s 72Ko] Lost in a deep, vast country where nobody knew him. Somewhere without language or streets. He dreamed about this place without knowing its name. And when he woke up, he was on fire. There were blue flames burning the sheets of his bed. He ran through the flames toward the only two people he loved.... but they were gone. [ 9s 152Ko] His arms were burning, and he threw himself outside and rolled on the wet ground. Then he ran. He never looked back at the fire. He just ran. He ran until the sun came up and he couldn't run any further. And when the sun went down, he ran again. For five days he ran like this until every sign of man had disappeared. [ 10s 169Ko]

Jane slowly sits up, wipes the tears from her face, then stands up and walks over to the mirror. She kneels down in front of it and places her hands on the glass.

JANE
Travis?

Right until the end, Travis had been speaking with his back to the window. Now, as he hears his name, he turns around to Jane who is right in front of him with her face pressed against the glass. He shifts his chair so that they are face to face. His features are reflected in hers.

TRAVIS
If you turn off the light in there, will you be able to see me?

JANE
I don't know. I never tried.

She gets up, walks to the door and switches off the light. Travis turns the table lamp so that it shines directly on his face. It works: the mirror reverses, and now Jane can see him, while Travis can only see himself. Jane kneels down in front of her window again.

TRAVIS
Can you see me?

JANE
Yes.

TRAVIS
Do you recognize me?

JANE
Oh, Travis.

TRAVIS
I brought Hunter with me...

Jane leans back, stunned. She is at a loss for words.

TRAVIS
Don't you want to see him ?

JANE
I wanted to see him so bad that I didn't even dare imagine him anymore. Anne kept sending me pictures of him until I asked her to stop. I couldn't stand the pain of seeing him grow up and missing it.

TRAVIS
Why didn't you keep him with you, Jane?

JANE
I couldn't, Travis. I didn't have what I knew he needed. And I didn't want to use him to fill up all my emptiness.

TRAVIS
Well, he needs you now, Jane. And he wants to see you.

JANE
He does?

TRAVIS
Yes. He's waiting for you.

JANE
Where?

TRAVIS
Downtown. In a hotel, The Meridian. Room 1520... 1520.

He starts to replace the receiver. Startled, Jane gets to her feet.

JANE
You're not going, are you? She pounds against the window with both fists.

Travis raises the receiver again. A long pause follows.

TRAVIS
I can't see you, Jane.

JANE
Don't go yet. Don't go yet!

She picks up the little loudspeaker from which Travis' voice emerges, and sits down with her back to the window like Travis did before.

JANE
I... I used to make long speeches to you after you left. I used to talk to you all the time, even though I was alone. I walked around for months talking to you. Now I don't know what to say. It was easier when I just imagined you. I even imagined you talking back to me. We'd have long conversations, the two of us. lt was almost like you were there. I could hear you, I could see you, smell you. I could hear your voice. Sometimes your voice would wake me up. It would wake me up in the middle of the night, just like you were in the room with me. Then... it slowly faded. I couldn't picture you anymore. I tried to talk out loud to you like I used to, but there was nothing there. I couldn't hear you. Then... I just gave it up. Everything stopped. You just... disappeared. And now I'm working here. I hear your voice all the time. Every man has your voice.

TRAVIS
l'll tell Hunter that you're coming.

JANE
Travis?

TRAVIS
What?

JANE
l'll be there.

TRAVIS
Good.

JANE
Meridian Hotel?

TRAVIS
Yeah. Room 1520.

He hangs up the receiver - this time for good - and leaves quickly. Jane remains seated for a long time with her head resting on the loudspeaker. Then she gets up, switches the light back on, and leaves the room. Only the mirror remains.


Sources
. "Paris, Texas" - Script, photos and credits - ROAD MOVIES/GRENO - 1984
. "Paris, Texas" - Soundtrack by Ry Cooder - Warner Bros. Records Inc. - 1988
Original content and site design 2000-2001 Forban.
Paris, Texas 1984 Road Movies GmbH, Berlin - Argos Films, Paris.
This fan site is intended for non-official non-commercial educational purposes only.
Index | Contact
haut

english version

Quoi de neuf ?

Fiches du film

Dialogues cultes

Galerie de photos

Produits

Opinions

Liens


plan du site


Cabine "Coffee Shop" - Intérieur soir

Travis se trouve à nouveau assis dans une des cabines du peep-show, devant le miroir, qui se transforme en vitre au moment où Jane entre et allume la lumière. Cette pièce est décorée comme un café à l'américaine. Aujourd'hui, Jane porte une courte robe noire. Elle semble d'aussi bonne humeur que la veille.

JANE
Bonjour.

TRAVIS
Bonjour.

Jane s'assied sur un tabouret au "bar".

TRAVIS
Je peux vous dire quelque chose?

JANE
Bien sûr. Tout ce que tu veux.

TRAVIS
C'est plutôt long.

JANE
J'ai tout le temps.

Il se peut que Jane reconnaisse la voix du visiteur de la veille. Mais elle n'en laisse rien voir. Travis prend sa chaise et se retourne, s'asseyant le dos à la vitre. Jane ne sait pas cela. Maintenant ils ne peuvent plus se voir ni l'un ni l'autre.

TRAVIS
J'ai connu ces gens... [ 1s 19Ko]

JANE
Quels gens?

TRAVIS
Ces deux-là. Ils s'aimaient. La fille était... très jeune, dans les dix-sept ou dix-huit ans, je crois. Et le type était... nettement plus vieux. Il était plutôt fruste et sauvage. Et elle était très belle, vous voyez?

JANE
Oui.

TRAVIS
Et ensemble ils transformaient tout en une sorte d'aventure, et elle aimait ça.
[ 6s 98Ko] Rien qu'aller à l'épicerie, c'était plein d'aventure. Ils étaient toujours à rire de bêtises. Il aimait la faire rire. Et ils ne se souciaient pas beaucoup du reste, parce que tout ce qu'ils voulaient, c'était être l'un avec l'autre. Ils étaient toujours ensemble.

JANE
Ils ont l'air d'avoir été très heureux.

TRAVIS
Oui, ils l'étaient. Ils étaient vraiment heureux. Et il... il l'aimait plus que tout ce qu'il avait imaginé. [ 5s 93Ko] Il ne supportait pas d'être loin d'elle pendant, pendant la journée quand il allait travailler. Alors il arrêtait. Juste pour être à la maison avec elle. Et puis il trouvait un autre boulot quand il n'y avait plus d'argent, et puis il arrêtait. Mais assez vite, elle a commencé à se soucier.

JANE
De quoi?

TRAVIS
De l'argent, je pense. De ce qu'il n'y en avait pas assez. De ne pas savoir quand le prochain chèque allait arriver.

JANE (rit)
Je sais ce que ça fait. [ 2s 32Ko]

TRAVIS
Et il s'est mis à être comme... déchiré en dedans.

JANE
Comment ça tu veux dire?

TRAVIS
Voilà, il savait qu'il devait travailler pour la faire vivre, mais il ne pouvait pas supporter d'être loin d'elle, non plus.

JANE
Je vois.

TRAVIS
Et plus il était loin d'elle, plus il devenait vraiment fou. [ 2s 44Ko] Il s'est mis à s'imaginer des choses.

JANE
Par exemple?

TRAVIS
Il s'est mis à penser qu'elle voyait d'autres hommes derrière son dos. Il rentrait du travail et l'accusait d'avoir passé la journée avec un autre. Il lui hurlait après et cassait des affaires dans la caravane.

Jane est soudain très effrayée. Peut-être a-t-elle su tout ce temps que c'était Travis qui lui parlait. Mais maintenant elle en est sure.

JANE
La caravane?

Il y a un long silence. Travis ne sait pas, lui non plus, s'il s'est trahi et s'il peut continuer à raconter l'histoire comme avant.

TRAVIS
Oui, ils vivaient dans une caravane. [ 3s 61Ko]

Jane lui donne la possibilité de préserver son anonymat.

JANE
Excusez-moi, Monsieur... mais ce n'est pas vous qui êtes venu me voir hier? Sans être indiscrète.

TRAVIS
Non.

JANE
Un moment j'ai cru reconnaître votre voix.

TRAVIS
Non, ce n'est pas moi.

JANE
Ah. Je vous en prie, continuez!

Elle joue bien son rôle. Travis sourit.

TRAVIS
Enfin, il s'est mis à boire vraiment sérieusement. Et il rentrait tard, pour la mettre à l'épreuve. [ 1s 31Ko]

JANE
Qu'est-ce que vous voulez dire, la mettre à l'épreuve?

TRAVIS
Pour voir si ça la rendrait jalouse.

Un petit rire échappe à Jane.

JANE
Ha!

TRAVIS
Il voulait la rendre jalouse, mais elle ne l'était pas. Elle se faisait juste du souci pour lui, mais ça le rendait encore plus furieux.

JANE
Pourquoi?

TRAVIS
Parce qu'il pensait que si elle n'était jamais jalouse avec lui, c'est qu'elle ne tenait pas vraiment à lui. La jalousie, ç'aurait été un signe de son amour pour lui. [ 2s 44Ko] Et alors, une nuit... une nuit, elle lui a dit qu'elle était enceinte. Elle était enceinte de trois ou quatre mois, et il ne le savait même pas. Et alors, tout a changé d'un coup. Il s'est arrêté de boire et il a trouvé un travail régulier. Il était convaincu qu'elle l'aimait, maintenant, parce qu'elle portait son enfant. Et il allait se consacrer à bâtir un foyer pour elle. Mais il a commencé à se passer quelque chose de bizarre.

JANE
Quoi?

TRAVIS
Il ne l'a même pas remarqué au début. C'est elle qui s'est mise à changer. Du jour où le bébé est né, tout ce qu'il y avait autour d'elle a commencé à l'irriter. Tout l'énervait. Même le bébé, elle trouvait que c'était une injustice. [ 3s 55Ko] Il continuait à essayer de tout arranger pour elle. Lui acheter des affaires. L'emmener dîner une fois par semaine. Mais rien ne semblait la satisfaire. Pendant deux ans, il s'est débattu pour revenir à ce qu'ils étaient quand ils s'étaient rencontrés, mais il a fini par comprendre que ça ne remarcherait jamais plus. Alors il s'est remis à boire. Mais cette fois, c'est devenu... mauvais. [ 4s 70Ko] Cette fois, quand il rentrait tard le soir, elle ne se faisait pas de souci pour lui, elle n'était pas jalouse, elle était juste enragée. Elle l'accusait de la tenir prisonnière en lui ayant fait un bébé. Elle lui disait qu'elle rêvait qu'elle s'enfuyait. Elle ne rêvait que de ça: la fuite. Elle se voyait la nuit courir nue sur la route, courir à travers champs, courir dans le lit des rivières, toujours courir. Et toujours, juste quand elle allait partir, il était là. Il l'arrêtait, comme ça. C'était juste, il apparaissait et l'arrêtait. Et quand elle lui parlait de ses rêves, il y croyait. [ 3s 50Ko] Il savait qu'il fallait l'arrêter ou qu'elle le quitterait pour toujours. Alors il lui a attaché une clochette à la cheville, pour qu'il entende la nuit si elle essayait de sortir du lit. [ 5s 84Ko] Mais elle a appris à étouffer le son de la clochette en y fourrant une chaussette, et à s'éloigner tout doucement du lit pour aller dans la nuit. Il l'a rattrapée une nuit que la chaussette était tombée et l'a traînée jusqu'à la caravane et l'a attachée à la cuisinière avec sa ceinture.

Au cours du récit de Travis, Jane s'est mise à pleurer. Les larmes lui coulent sur le visage.

TRAVIS
Il l'a juste laissée là et est retourné au lit et est resté couché là à l'écouter hurler. Puis il a écouté son fils hurler, et il s'est lui-même étonné car il ne ressentait plus rien. Tout ce qu'il voulait c'était dormir. Et pour la première fois, il a souhaité être très loin. [ 4s 72Ko] Perdu dans un vaste pays profond, où personne ne le connaîtrait. Quelque part sans langage ni rues. Et il a rêvé de cet endroit sans en connaître le nom. Et quand il s'est réveillé, il était en feu. Il y avait des flammes bleues qui brûlaient les draps de son lit. Il a couru à travers les flammes vers les deux seuls êtres qu'il aimait... mais ils étaient partis. [ 9s 152Ko] Ses bras étaient en feu et il s'est jeté dehors et a roulé sur le sol humide. Alors il a couru. Il n'a pas regardé une seule fois l'incendie. Il a juste couru. Il a couru jusqu'à ce que le soleil se lève et qu'il ne puisse plus courir. Et quand le soleil s'est couché, il s'est remis à courir. Pendant cinq jours il a couru comme ça, jusqu'à ce que toute trace de l'homme ait disparu. [ 10s 169Ko]

Jane se redresse lentement, s'essuie les larmes du visage, se lève et va au miroir. Elle s'agenouille devant et met les mains sur la vitre.

JANE
Travis?

Jusqu'à la fin, Travis a parlé en tournant le dos à la vitre. En entendant son nom, il se retourne vers Jane, qui se trouve maintenant tout près de lui, le visage pressé contre le verre. Alors il retourne sa chaise pour être assis en face d'elle. Son visage apparaît en reflet dans celui de Jane.

TRAVIS
Si tu éteins la lumière là-dedans, tu pourras me voir?

JANE
Je ne sais pas. Je n'ai jamais essayé.

Elle se lève, va à la porte et éteint la lumière dans sa pièce. Travis retourne la lampe et la dirige vers son propre visage. De cette manière, le miroir est effectivement renversé, et maintenant Jane peut le voir, tandis que Travis ne voit plus que lui-même. Jane s'accroupit à nouveau devant la vitre.

TRAVIS
Tu me vois?

JANE
Oui.

TRAVIS
Tu me reconnais?

JANE
Oh, Travis.

TRAVIS
J'ai amené Hunter avec moi.

Saisie, Jane recule. Elle ne sait que dire.

TRAVIS
Tu ne veux pas le voir?

JANE
Si. Je voulais le voir tellement fort que je n'osais même plus me l'imaginer. Anne m'envoyait des photos de lui, à la fin je lui ai demandé d'arrêter. Je ne pouvais plus supporter la peine de le voir grandir et d'être absente.

TRAVIS
Pourquoi ne l'as-tu pas gardé avec toi, Jane?

JANE
Je ne pouvais pas, Travis. Je savais de quoi il avait besoin, et je ne l'avais pas. Je ne voulais pas me servir de lui pour remplir tout ce qui était vide en moi.

TRAVIS
Seulement, il a besoin de toi maintenant, Jane. Et il veut te voir.

JANE
C'est vrai?

TRAVIS
Oui. Il t'attend en ce moment.

JANE
Où?

TRAVIS
En ville. Dans un hôtel. Le Meridian. Chambre 1520... 1520.

Il veut poser l'écouteur. Effrayée, Jane se redresse.

JANE
Tu ne t'en vas pas, dis? Des deux mains, elle frappe contre la glace.

Travis reprend l'appareil. Un long silence.

TRAVIS
Je ne peux pas te voir, Jane.

JANE
Ne t'en va pas, pas encore. Ne t'en va pas, pas encore.

Elle prend le petit haut-parleur d'où lui parvient la voix de Travis et s'assied le dos à la vitre, comme Travis l'avait fait.

JANE
Je te faisais toujours de grands discours, après ton départ. Je te parlais tout le temps, même si j'étais seule. Pendant des mois, j'ai marché en te parlant. Maintenant je ne sais pas quoi dire. C'était plus facile juste quand je t'imaginais. J'imaginais même que tu me répondais. On avait de grandes conversations, tous les deux. C'était presque comme si tu étais là. Je pouvais t'entendre, te voir, sentir ton odeur. Je pouvais entendre ta voix. Il y a eu des moments où c'est ta voix qui me réveillait. Elle me réveillait au milieu de la nuit juste comme si tu étais dans la chambre avec moi. Et puis... ça s'est effacé lentement. Je ne pouvais plus me représenter comment tu étais. J'ai essayé de te parler tout haut comme avant, mais il n'y avait plus rien. Je ne pouvais plus t'entendre. Et alors... j'ai abandonné. Tout s'est arrêté. Et alors tu... as disparu. Maintenant je travaille ici. J'entends ta voix tout le temps. Chaque homme a ta voix.

TRAVIS
Je vais dire à Hunter que tu arrives.

JANE
Travis?

TRAVIS
Oui?

JANE
J'y serai.

TRAVIS
Bien.

JANE
Au Meridian?

TRAVIS
Oui. Chambre 1520.

Il pose enfin l'écouteur et s'en va. Jane reste encore un moment seule, assise, la tête posée contre le petit haut-parleur. Puis elle se lève, rallume la lumière et sort de la pièce. Il ne reste rien que le miroir.


Sources
. "Paris, Texas" - Script, photos et crédits - ROAD MOVIES/GRENO - 1984
. "Paris, Texas" - Musique de Ry Cooder - Warner Bros. Records Inc. - 1988
Contenu original et design du site © 2000-2004 Forban.
Paris, Texas © 1984 Road Movies GmbH, Berlin - Argos Films, Paris.
Ce fan site n'a aucun caractère officiel ou commercial mais seulement informatif.
Index | Contact
haut